Bitterness: Drinking Poison and Wishing Someone Else Dies


Bitterness_poison

What happens to a person when they are exposed to continual invalidation, isolation, and abandonment while they are experiencing one of the greatest personal and emotional crises of their life?  The answer to the question could result in a book instead of a blog post describing the biochemical, neurological, cognitive,behavioral, and physiological components that trigger damaging, destructive emotions. However, the travesty for the individual in crisis is that while they are feeling the pain of loss of all that important in life, they also are faced with having to mange others inability to to face crisis, suffering, and death of someone they love.

Alone, Isolated, Feeling Rejected

So, because you are left alone emotionally and face the feelings of rejection, isolation and then as if that was not enough, the invalidation you experience leaves you with the sense that what you are feeling is not real, and not important enough for anyone to recognize the deep loss and the pain of losing your primary connection to life The invalidation felt is more than you can bear because it seems that what you are feeling is a solitary pain not important enough to be heard or acknowledged by anyone around you. So, it seems in these moments, you are left alone in your sackcloth and ashes to suffer the loss of someone who was your whole life and it seems that the whole world has gone away and is darkened by loneliness and pain.

Inaccurate Empathy

Sometimes people say “I understand” and mean well, but If the speaker has not had a similar  experience, there is not a capacity to understand what this experience, so well meaning words are wasted words used by people trying to say the right thing at a emotionally difficult time to say anything, it is inaccurate empathy. Thinking back about the years I had spent efforts taking care of others and their families through moments of crisis life for most of my life, compounded by my unfortunate experience of having Thyroid cancer, being misdiagnosed with Parkinson’s disease; managing diabetes, an encounter with a steel pipe to the head and; then, it seemed the final blow of losing a wife to cancer; I needed to know that someone cared. However, my view of others responses led me to a compounded feeling of experience a emotionally accepting and supportive or emphatic response from life, the church, or those that I had served over the years of ministry. In those moments I recalled something that I had read by Albert Ellis that reminded me that it wasn’t the circumstances of death, personal suffering of others responses, but how I felt about the experiences that I was having and I had some faulty expectations that left me feeling empty.

Abandoned and Alone

Even though it may not have been true in other peoples eyes, at that moment in time, my felt experience of life magnified abandonment and isolation in every moment. It seemed that some people should have cared enough to sit with me, talk to me,  like I sat with their dying family members through the years.  In those moments while Linda was dying,  I was was plagued by the moments and the memory about the time when I chose to be transparent enough to share with the church, the deacons, and leaders that I was very sick and could not perform at the level that I had before because I had cancer.  The response that I received was not compassion, but pressure and anger leading to further responses organizing efforts to place greater pressure on me to perform. At that critical business meeting when my wife could not take it anymore, she walked to the podium where an organized effort to pressure me into resigning was in place.  I replied to her that I could not do that at this time.  Four years had passed since I left that church and while I was waiting in the Hospice center not one person came from congregation that I had served, not one card, not one flower, not one call. In these dark moments, I was reminded of these painful emotions and remembered the way that Christian people showed no empathy to a dying woman who had been a part of their church for six years. I pondered the thoughts about the way that my wife spent her last weeks and last last memory knowing that the response of people we had once believed in and thought were friends were not giving a hand up. There is no greater pain in life than the feeling of being abandoned and left alone to die. In the valley of the shadow of death, the feeling of abandonment and loneliness reminded me of the lies that we come to believe in life about other people.

The Sounds of Anger

If it sounds like I was angry and that I had anger that needed expressed, let me assure you that I was angry and it was churning a tune that would have expressed a unpleasant song given the opportunity to be heard. In that experience, I felt that I had good reason to be angry with people who were not acting like I wanted them to act in this situation, so I was angry because they expressed no compassion. It appeared to me that I had not been very effective at teaching them to show mercy and I just could not believe that people we had served could be so calloused while my wife lay dying and not a one of them had the common courtesy to call, visit, or express any concern.  After living through an experience of wishing the worst things on people whom I believed were the source of so much, I realize that emotional pain and  bitterness leads to a counterproductive way of living.  Bitterness only hurts the person who is bitter, so in those moments I surrendered my bitterness to a loving God who did care and I resigned myself not live in bitterness and unforgiveness. However, I will always be impacted by the actions that were unjust behaviors of those who claim to know the Lord and act like reprobates.

Lost and Alone

After my Linda died, I felt like my life was over and I felt the sting of emotional and psychological abuse from angry people acting out who claimed to know Christ, but were less than compassionate in every way.  I moved away and in my new place, I did not have the constant reminder the aggravation of seeing the people who had religious conversation characterized by concepts of expressing love, acceptance and mercy, but behaved with judgment, pain, isolation, and abandonment. I have to admit, I really did not understand why people were acting the way they were, while I was trying to find some way to refocus life amidst the blur of grief compounded by the absence of support from most people that I would have expected to be helpful. If that sounds ominous, it was and in those dark moments I knew that if I did not do something drastic to change the direction of my life, I soon would be destroyed and on the street with no one to help me build a bridge to whatever road was ahead, so I followed my instincts and made a clean break from everyone and everything and did the things that I knew to do as a place to start..

Refocusing my Spiritual Life

As a recovering church and ministry junkie, I had come to realize that living inside a religious life only offered redemption as a concept and not as a transformational principle. It took the accumulation of the worst tragedies in life into a single  event and understanding that I had spent my life in a religious world of no substance, around shallow religious, and among many people who merely practiced cultural Christianity. The element that was missing was relationships with people who actually lived their life through the gospel lens. Broken people who lived the kind of relationship that Jesus modeled and proclaimed.  Personally, I felt victimized by religious do gooders when, in fact, my problem was I had a distorted perception of reality because I was fooling myself with the appeal of the broad way that looked to people for answers, instead of looking to God and it ended in destruction. I expected people who were not conformed to the gospel to live in accordance with its demands for total sacrifice.  I somehow thought Christians would be Christians when called upon. However, this belief could not have been further from the truth– people always act in their best interest and out of their own need justifying what they do.  The problem is that this religious narcissism offered pretentious platitudes with no commitment to caring for anything that did not make the churchy people feel good about themselves for doing nothing, bur criticize your pain. The whole experience made me think of how Jesus must have felt while hanging on the Cross and people passing by jeering, mocking, and ridiculing Him in His suffering –what monumental invalidation of the worst kind. How unfortunate, the lies that that are taught, modeled and reinforced among the morally religious.

Church People are as Fallible and Wicked as anyone Else

It is with great sadness that I have to report that I had to come to terms with the painful realization that the heart of a man is deceitfully wicked above any other thing.  I witnessed people acting destructively with surgical precision, while all I could do is keep my hat on in the storm. Unfortunately, my disappointment was compounded by my misunderstanding about the character of human behavior that justified evil acts while holding the bible in one hand and a dagger in the other.  When a person has false expectations about people and life; then that individual ends up disillusioned and disappointed by the false ideas believed, the result can be tragic.  Disillusionment leads to failure in life, bitterness about experiences and alienation from cultural Christians whose lives have not been transformed by the Gospel.  Indeed, things experience has taught me educated me that the church is ill-equipped at helping people who have real problems. It is because many churches are led by religious cripples with their tin cup held out requiring alms from the wounded and broken. I am sorry to say that I have discovered that the religious crowd of cultural Christians are very good at is creating emotional invalids, people who cannot think for themselves, while religious authorities demand conformity to the status quot to find acceptance. The best organization in the world is the church of the Lord Jesus Christ, but it is made up of people who are a part of an organizational system that has no fail-safe approach for people who experience problems outside of the finite norms created by the mainstream dilettantes.  What is a person to do when all that is right goes wrong leaving you in a pile ruins, then in one fell swoop everything is lost, hope is gone, and you’re left alone?  You have a choice to grow bitter and spiteful or get better and move on with life. The myth that we need freedom from is that our hope is in the people of the church. The truth we need to give hope is found in the sufficient savior of the church

The Valley of the Shadow of Death is a Solitary Journey

I remember when I sat in the hospice with Linda who was dying with colon cancer and thinking– remembering about how many times that I had been there with other families who had a family member dying.  I remember asking myself, “Where are those people who I served and where is the church, the pastor, the family now?”  Death is one of those solitary experiences that you have to go through alone, but it is a time that no one should be alone.  If you want to invalidate someone, leave them alone when they get older and when they are dying.  I remember very clearly the isolation and loneliness of those moments.  I had just had a TIA, my sugar was out of control, my wife dying of cancer and life was ebbing away.  I sat there and waited hoping that anyone would come that I knew would care.  I called and talked on the phone with my mother-in law who had told Linda that she had that she had received a word from God that she was going to be healed and  told her that she did not have enough faith.  In the valley of the shadow of death religious people commit the worst  atrocities and invalidate the dying patient in the name of a religious deception. The power of denial turns the religious mythology into invalidation invalidation by refusing to accept and prepare for death. I remember the particular sting of guilt and anger when she called and told me that I should take Linda out of Hospice because that was where people went to die and again reminded me that we did not have enough faith.  As I understand that it was her fear of the reality of death and others readiness to face death that explained the confusing behavior, I sat there day in and day out– around the clock wondering when someone would come.  People trickled through occasionally, sporadically– but no one really came who stayed, who invested, who made a difference because other people had responsibilities that took them out of the shadow, the valley where death was waiting.  It was not until the last week that Linda lived that her mother, dad, and brother finally came. In the valley of the shadow of death, it is always a solitary place where we come face to face with God, truth about ourselves and others.

What I discovered through this process is that I had faulty notions about people that made me believe that if they were really Christians they would show love, if they were family, they would show respect, if he was a really a pastor, he would show care, but it did not happen. I was disappointed and as she died with my hand on her chest, there along with my daughter and son I felt her last breath, her heart stop and a tear trickled out of the corner of her right eye. The lie that I believed was that my expectations would be met and that people would care as much as I had and they did not. I learned in death to see the light of day.

People are Heartless

What I discovered is that people can be heartless at times like this inside both and outside the church.  The difference is that people inside the church have one set of answers about life and people who are outside the church have another set of answers.  People do act according to their personal interests, needs, and beliefs and this was not one of them.  Mistakenly, I believed that somehow people would act as I thought that I used to –go sit, pray, or give support.  The result, for me, was disappointment and disillusionment.  The point is that I thought they should, would– show interest and it made me angry, and not for myself, but that people could show such a lack of feeling about someone who was innocently and undeserving dying such a horrible death. At the end of the day, the anger that I feel has not gone away about injustice, but I have learned to manage what I felt, experienced, and is a lifelong reality. The unfortunate thing is that when such emotionally charged memories become a part of existence that it changes life forever.

I will probably never get over what has happened, but living with bitterness is no more an option that living false beliefs and expectations about people. Consequently, Linda’s life is over and I regret that people who should have expressed compassion did not and left her with the empty morbid reality of death without time to say I love you and that you are important enough to me that I will set aside my personal interests and show love and care as the shadow hovers over your life and death awaits the time of its arrival..

9 thoughts on “Bitterness: Drinking Poison and Wishing Someone Else Dies”

  1. Ron – What a great article about bitterness and especially about how dying people are treated!~ Powerful stuff and so on point. People cannot deal with death issues, I took a death & dying course last year at Akron U (my wife is a program assistant and I’m a part-time instructor) and we came face to face with it last fall as my wife’s father died and my father faced a serious illness. It is a part of life that few people can deal with. Really enjoy your posts, still have your number and will try to give you a call. Thanks for your posts, bob spangler

  2. What an excellent post! Thank you so much for sharing. I am glad she had you at the end, she wasn’t alone. I think we can all only hope to be so lucky during our last days.

  3. Wow! That was thought provoking to say the least. As with most personal stories, this had to be somewhat painful to revisit as you wrote, but thank you for being transparent.

    Perhaps this will help all of us take a closer look at the difference between what we say with our lips verses what we say with our lives…

    Steve

  4. Thanks Steve: You are a good and true friend to come here and read this powerfully painful and thought provoking personal account. I appreciate your loving and caring way that make the rough edges of life a little smoother and so much better. 🙂

  5. I appreciate you visiting my blog on bitterness. I am horrified you had the experience you did. My dad has been a pastor for over 50 years and never would have treated you like that. He and my mom have invested hours upon hours (1/2 a lifetime maybe?) sitting with the sick and dying in hospitals, hospices, homes, etc. While we believe in God’s ability to heal, we also realize He doesn’t always heal immediately and sometimes healing is we wake up in Heaven (our opinion.) I wish we had known you. You would not have spent that time alone. Anyway – I completely agree with you re: bitterness! I know I suffered too many years because of mine. God is full of grace and mercy though. He brought me to a place of dealing with my sin and He is working in my body as well. I am unworthy of such grace and mercy.
    Praying for you. People will disappoint but God is faithful. Always.
    Much love, brother!
    Julie

    1. Thanks so much for your supportive comments and stopping by my blog. I do appreciate your desire to be helpful. I wrote this article to help others who are facing the effects of bitterness.

      Best regards,

      Ronnie

Leave a Reply

